DIY Project 01: Framed greens

Found its new home on my vanity
It was actually intended to be something for my desk at work but yeah, it turns out it fits beautifully in my room!

Here we go, my first DIY on the blog. This idea struck me in the most inconvenient time: when I was about to sleep 1am in the morning. I just had to do it! This project was inspired by green walls and random calligraphy work that litters Pinterest. They said that seeing something green makes you work better plus it gives something that the eye can rest with after prolonged exposure to the computer. I’ve experienced a lot of model-making during my college days and grass powder is my best friend. It’s easy and fool-proof to use. If you’re an architecture student, you’ll most probably have the materials sitting at home. If not, you can buy grass powder from Joli’s or a model-making supply store.

What you’re going to need:

  1. Paper (I used an unruled index card so the paper won’t wrinkle easily)
  2. Black ink (I used techpen ink)
  3. Craft glue
  4. Grass powder in two shades
  5. You can skip this one but I added a pinch of pencil shavings to give my grass some texture.

How to do it:

  1. Using whatever black ink you have at home, write words that mean something to you using a brush. It works so much better compared with using your normal marker. It has more character. Don’t forget to practice your writing on scrap paper first!
  2. Trace a circle with your craft glue and fill it in entirely. It’s totally up to you.
  3. Mix your grass powder 1/3 light green 2/3 dark green and a pinch of pencil shavings
  4. Bunch it up and let it adhere to the glue. Good thing craft glue dries transparent
  5. Let it dry
  6. Frame it!

It’s super easy and quite effortless. I can actually do ten of these but you know, I’d run out of frames. I bought mine from Landmark for Php50! Wood blends so much better with a lot of settings so I usually have that at default.

Soooo I hope you’ve enjoyed this one. I’m sure I’d have to come up with something to use at the office. A grass frame!!!!!