Wish I was a (magic) candle

A good teacher is like a candle — it consumes itself to light the way for others. ~Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, translated from Turkish

It’s hard not to care when you have students that make you feel appreciated. When I give, I think outside myself or my comfort. Everything becomes so worth it when I see that connection being made and I see a renewed spark in their eyes. This is the stuff that makes me wake up every morning.

I don’t know how much more I have in my reserve or how big the original candle is. I just know the wick is lit and maybe that Turkish quote can become a little more sustainably applied to me. I’d like to be the LED version of this candle and consume as little energy and light as much surface as I can.

 

GR101oct181AR9b
with my batchmates from 1AR9: Marilet, Hannah, Erika and Claire
GR101oct181AR9
Shoutout to Hannah and Erika!

 

In other news: How am I doing? Well I’m still trying hard to hit that balance. My crazy schedule is getting to me after three months into this grind. I feel like I’m climbing to my peak. I feel healthy, alive and colorful. It’s been awesome but I know my mind, body and soul need a break. If you see me around, say hi🙂 I would most probably make time for my friends.

 

2 thoughts on “Wish I was a (magic) candle

Leave a Reply

